EnglishEspañol中文(简体)Deutsch
远程医疗培训手册和准则 -- 通过从医学专业值得信赖 1985


远程医疗: 专家临床实践要点 (2021)


结构, 过程, 结果

5-级别电话分类

可用的 在亚马逊上 在春天 2021

专家临床实践要点是对 美术电话分流的 (1993) 电话分类中的原始“如何”课程.

结构 – 过程 – 成果=质量与安全

这项全面的培训计划结合了两个 (培训和标准) 四个系统组件 (文档格式, 方针, 标准与培训). 它演示了一个过程 — 标准操作流程 — Nursing Process — 包括护理风险诊断, assessment tools, 沟通技巧和五级分类方法. 资料更新 the Role, the Risks, Rules of Thumb, Red Flags, 红鲱鱼 “真实的世界” 支持临床医生将患者送到正确位置的方法, at the right time, for the right reason. 内容包括以下:

  • 护理过程与护理风险评估
  • 样品系统组件: 职位描述和标准, 文件表格, 质量检查审核表, 通用准则, 工作流程, 病人手册, 电话树, 独特的电话分类政策
  • 5-水平分流结果代表评估的改善, 通讯, 连续性和知情同意
  • 确认 5 与电话分类有关的错误的根本原因
  • 选择并申请 5 关键评估方法
  • 改善临床决策和分流处置
  • 改善评估和沟通, 书面和口头形式

目录

  • Chapter 1. Overview
  • Chapter 2: Rules of Thumb
  • Chapter 3: Prioritization: 红旗症状和人群
  • Chapter 4: 过程: 临床决策
  • Chapter 5: 通讯: 书面和口头
  • 查珀 6: 正确的护理水平: 5-等级分类
  • Chapter 7: 避免人为错误
  • 附录: 远程医疗标准

阅读材料摘录

致读者

质疑我们的假设:

期望, 基于错误和证据的策略

尽管远程医疗是一个独特的高科技领域, 它仍在专业发展中. 而且由于缺乏充分的专业发展, 质疑我们目前的假设是合理的.

例如, 进行鉴别诊断是我们的任务吗? 信息技术从本质上使工作更安全吗? 历史, 开发人员在护理过程及其电话分诊任务的临​​床应用方面花了很多时间. 医学开发的算法是否可以代替电话分类中的批判性思维和临床培训?

最后, 技术使我们的职业生活更轻松? 我们的工作压力减轻还是更安全? 最新研究发现,用户不友好的软件为一些医生带来了更多工作, 现在每天工作11小时 (Gawande, 2018). 电话分诊护士可以跟得上吗? 某些软件可能会加剧决策疲劳-一种可预测的人为状况,会降低决策后的决策能力 6 小时 (林德, 2019).

安全假设并知道我们知道什么

引用唐纳德·拉姆斯菲尔德 “有已知的已知 — 我们知道的事情.....已知的未知数; 我们知道的东西我们不知道...。还有未知的未知数-我们不知道的我们不知道的那些”. (维基百科)

可以肯定的是,远程医疗

  • 是一种临床护理
  • 旨在促进安全, 及时 (早或准时) access
  • 是到达前护理的一种形式 (在到达现场之前发生 )
  • 需要在不确定和紧急情况下进行临床决策

期望

进行区别诊断或估计症状紧急程度是远程医疗的任务吗? 尚无研究确定哪项任务实际可行 — 鉴别诊断或护理诊断.

现实地, 甚至在屏幕上看到病人, 或在电话中听到他们的声音非常有限. 即使是鉴别诊断也需要面对面的相遇, 至少检查或生命体征. 有理由期望我们只能估计症状的紧急程度.

分流不是终点,而是起点. 试图在分流中尝试进行初步医学诊断的基本前提的系统注定会失败. 基于诊断的分类标准实际上可能很危险,因为分类, 根据定义, 时间有限, 历史, 和客观数据. 分诊的唯一适当重点是识别关键体征/症状,以便将患者置于适合其一般敏锐度或风险的水平.“ (齐默尔曼的曼彻斯特分类集团, 2001)

分诊需要批判性思维和收集和记录有关主诉和患者病史数据的传统技能. 通过护理过程, 进行彻底的症状和患者病史, 并评估症状的紧急程度, 可以制定护理诊断 (部分问题集中, 部分以风险为中心的护理诊断), 同时确定导致脆弱性增加的风险因素 — 电子病历中可用的信息.

错误: IT的意外后果

我们对电子/纸质指南和EHR的期望是否合理?? 有证据表明它们是可靠和有效的? 还是我们被迫外包我们的医疗传统? -文档? – 批判性思维?

罗伯特·怀特, MD, 国际知名的患者安全专家, 质量, 和信息技术, 还是加州大学医学系系主任, 旧金山. 在他的《数字医生》一书中, 他描述了信息技术对医务人员的深远影响, 他们的工作, 彼此及其患者之间的关系. (Wachter, 2017)

例如, 观察者描述“无面额票据”的一种图表绘制方式,其中票据是分散的, 重复的陈述,几乎变得通用, 从而丢失了个人的所有痕迹. 他鼓励临床医生进行“超级评估”, 更宽广, 富有表现力的-讲故事-医学叙事.

杰夫·布朗, MD, 儿科电话分诊的早期开创者-也为失去对病人的简要描述而感到遗憾, 对病人的赤字很大. (棕色, 2017) 没有任何理由无法通过电话分类完成.

在《纽约客》的一篇文章“为什么医生讨厌他们的计算机” (2018), 阿图尔·加万德(Atul Gawande), MD, 外科医生, 作家兼安全专家, 描述技术上的不足如何导致医师倦怠的流行.

“我们了解到自动化无法消除错误. 相当, 它改变了所犯错误的性质, 并可能导致新的错误. 底线是这个: 集成了人类最佳技能和技术的系统对于所有相关人员而言都是最安全的“. 萨利·苏伦伯格上尉, 飞行员, “哈德逊奇迹”

循证政策?

我最近听到一个有关74岁女性患者术后严重疼痛的故事. 她在星期六早上给咨询护士打了电话。, 要求看到她. 响应 (在两个不同的临床医生的两个不同的电话中) 是“我们的政策是不给术后患者提供建议. 周一上午手术室开放时回电”.

什么样的证据可能会支持这种误导和危险的政策? 是否很清楚电话分类的目的是为了促进安全, 及时访问? 术后疼痛等症状可能对时间敏感吗?, 并且延迟护理可能会被视为拒绝护理?

尽管患者自我推荐的研究已经存在了数十年 (北, 2010), 也许我们需要实施一项鼓励患者积极主动的政策. 出现紧急症状的患者应优先考虑. 其实, 数十年来,许多患者绕过了建议护士 (或医师) 共, 把事情掌握在自己手中, 并自我介绍给最近的教育署, 从而获得更安全的结果.

新研究描述了可能更安全的政策, 比上面案例研究中描述的更及时的处理. 研究人员发现,通过“跳过队列”自我推荐的呼叫者比没有绕过队列的呼叫者病情更重 (埃伯特, 2019). 该研究使用了“紧急访问按钮”, 允许患者跳线, 如果他们觉得自己的症状很紧急.

系统错误纽约时报最近的一篇文章名为“公司医学如何利用医生和护士“ (提供, 2019) 突出令人担忧的趋势. 丹妮尔·奥夫里(Danielle Ofri), MD — 贝尔维尤医院的一名医师 –指出公司医学已经挤走了系统可以利用的所有“效率”.

近几十年来, 医护人员的工作量增加了 30%. 护士和医生正在精疲力尽,甚至自杀 (并且以比几乎其他任何职业更高的比率), 可能是因为尝试保持不断增加的工作量,同时又坚持专业标准和道德规范.

不出所料, 更高程度的倦怠与医疗错误有关. 奥夫里总结说:“医疗保健绝不是完美的, 但是存在的好处是因为个人努力去做正确的事” (提供, 2019). 这样的观察与当前的电话分流实践特别相关。, 员工有时会发现自己“在坚硬的地方之间”.

人为错误: 决定疲劳作为全职甚至8小时的任务, 电话分类需要连续, 不懈的临床决策–重复, 艰巨, 筋疲力尽的工作. 后 6 小时, 这种类型的脑力劳动导致决策疲劳.

《纽约时报》最近的一篇文章描述了有关医生决策疲劳的研究, 建议患者在清晨去看医生 (林德, 2019). 所以也是, 在大量临床呼叫中心全职工作的临床医生 (或专门在手机上进行8小时轮班) 可能会遭受决策疲劳, 提出有关此类工作的安全班次长度的问题.

院前电话和败血症 曾担任大约 35 电话分类中的渎职案件, 作者发现,大约 30-40% 渎职案件 (大多数人死了) 后来被诊断为败血症.

循证医学 根据维基百科, “循证医学 (循证医学) 是一种旨在优化医疗实践的方法 决策 通过强调使用 证据 经过精心设计和良好操守 研究. “

关于电话分类的早期败血症识别的研究很少或没有. 然而, 最近对败血症的研究发现 85% 败血症病例 败血症到达 (健康催化剂, 2018) 此外, 延误发生时死亡率接近50%. 使用当前的EBM, 创建指导方针有意义吗, 院前败血症早期识别的培训和政策?

基于安全政策的证据

基于以上研究, 在以EBM警察为基础的电话分类中推广安全文化似乎是合理而谨慎的.

  • 正式承认远程医疗为住院前护理并使其合法化— 护理连续体的第一个接触和初始阶段,
  • 使患者受益 带有自我识别的紧急症状的人
  • 实施败血症早期识别指南 特别是对于儿童和老人
  • 更正式地整合护理流程 纳入培训材料和指南
  • 研究所 4-6 时班在所有高呼叫量临床呼叫中心或8小时专用位置.

勇于追求健康的新世界

电话分类的工作即使不确定也不算什么, 人们强烈不喜欢不确定性. 然而, 谨慎地承认这项工作的局限性, 并质疑我们对此的假设. 安全的假设 (根据证据) 可以成为安全政策的基础.

可用的 在亚马逊上 在春天 2021


分享这篇文章
FacebooktwitterlinkedinFacebooktwitterlinkedin

EnglishEspañol中文(简体)Deutsch
Telehealth Training Manuals and Guidelines -- trusted by medical professionals since 1985


Telehealth: Essentials for Expert Clinical Practice (2021)


Structure, Process, Outcomes for

5-Level Telephone Triage 

Available  on Amazon in early 2021

Essentials for Expert Clinical  Practice is a revision of The Fine Art of Telephone Triage (1993) the original “how to” course in telephone triage.

Structure – Process – Outcome = Quality and Safety

This comprehensive Training Program combines two (training and Standards) of four System Components (Documentation Form, Guidelines, Standards and Training). It demonstrates a Process — Standard Operating Procedure — Nursing Process — including Nursing Risk Diagnoses, assessment tools, communication techniques and a 5-Level triage approach. The materials update the Role, the Risks, Rules of Thumb, Red Flags, Red Herrings for a  “real world” approach that supports clinicians in getting patients to the right place, at the right time, for the right reason.  Contents include the  following:

  •  the nursing process and nursing risk assessment
  •  sample system components:   job descriptions and standards,  documentation form, QA Audit Form, Universal Guideline, Work Flow Process, patient brochure, phone tree, unique telephone triage policies
  • 5-level triage outcomes representative of improved assessments, communications, continuity and informed consen
  • Identify 5 root causes of error related to telephone triage
  • Select and apply 5 key assessment methods
  • Improve clinical decision-making and triage dispositions
  • Improve assessments and communications, in both written and verbal formats

Table of Contents

  • Chapter 1.  Overview
  • Chapter 2:  Rules of Thumb
  • Chapter 3:  Prioritization: Red Flag Symptoms and Populations
  • Chapter 4:  Process:  Clinical Decision Making
  • Chapter 5:  Communications: Written and Verbal
  • Chaper 6:   Right Level of Care: 5-Level Triage
  • Chapter 7:  Avoiding Human Error
  • Appendix: Telehealth Standards

READING MATERIAL EXCERPT

TO THE READER

 Questioning Our Assumptions:

Expectations, Error and Evidence-Based Policies

Although telehealth is a uniquely high-tech field, it is still evolving professionally.  And because it lacks full professional development, it is reasonable to question our current assumptions.

 For example, is it our task to perform a differential diagnosis? Does Information technology inherently make the work safer?  Historically, developers have given short shrift to the nursing process and its clinical application to the task of telephone triage. Do medically developed algorithms take the place of critical thinking and clinical training in telephone triage?

Finally, has technology made our professional lives easier? Is our work less stressful or safer?  New research finds that user-unfriendly software creates more work for some physicians, who now work 11-hour days (Gawande,  2018).  Can telephone triage nurses be far behind?  Some software may exacerbate decision fatigue – a predictable human condition that degrades decision-making after 6 hours (Linder, 2019).

SAFE ASSUMPTIONS AND KNOWING WHAT WE KNOW

To quote Donald Rumsfeld “there are known knowns — things we know we know…..there are known unknowns; things we know we do not know….there are also unknown unknowns—the ones we don’t know we don’t know”.  (Wikipedia)

It is safe to assume that telehealth

  •  is a form of clinical care
  • is designed to facilitate safe, timely (early or on time) access
  • is a form of pre-arrival care (takes place prior to arrival on site )
  • requires clinical decision-making under conditions of uncertainty and urgency

Expectations 

Is it the task of telehealth to perform a differential diagnoses or to estimate symptom urgency?  No research has definitively determined which task is actually feasible  — differential diagnosis or nursing diagnosis.

Realistically, even seeing a patient on a screen, or hearing their voice on the phone is extremely  limited.  Even a differential diagnosis  requires face-to-face  encounters, tests or vital signs at minimum.  It is reasonable to expect that we can only  estimate symptom urgency.

Triage is not an endpoint but a beginning.  Systems with a basic premise of attempting to make a tentative medical diagnosis at triage are doomed to fail.  Diagnosis-based triage scales could actually be dangerous because triage, by definition, has limited time, history, and objective data.  The only appropriate focus of triage is to identify key signs/symptoms so as to place patients in an appropriate level for their generic acuity or risk.”             (Manchester Triage Group in Zimmerman, 2001)

Triage requires critical thinking and traditional skills of gathering and recording data about the chief complaint and patient history.  By using the nursing process, performing a thorough symptom and patient history, and estimating the symptom urgency, one can formulate a nursing diagnosis (part Problem Focused, part Risk-Focused Nursing Diagnosis), while identifying risk factors that contribute to increased vulnerability — information available in the EHR.

Error:  Unintended Consequences of IT

Are our expectation of our electronic/paper guidelines and EHR reasonable?  Has evidence shown them to be reliable and valid?  Or are we being lulled into outsourcing our -medical traditions? -documentation? – critical thinking?

Robert Watcher, MD, an internationally known expert in patient safety, quality, and information technology, is alsochair of the Department of Medicine at the University of California, San Francisco. In his book “The Digital Doctor”, he describes the profound effects of IT on medical staff, their work, relationships with each other and their patients. (Wachter, 2017)

For example, Watcher describes the “faceless note” a way of charting whereby notes are fragmented, repetitious statements and rendered nearly generic, whereby all traces of the individual are missing.  He encourages clinicians to perform “uber assessments”,  be more expansive, expressive – to tell a story – the medical narrative.

Jeff Brown, MD, an early pioneer in pediatric telephone triage – also laments the lost art of writing a brief general description of the patient, much to the patient’s deficit.   (Brown, 2017)  There is no reason why this cannot be accomplished in telephone triage.

In a New Yorker article “Why doctors hate their computers” (2018),  Atul Gawande, MD, surgeon, writer and safety expert, describes how inadequacies in technology are leading to an epidemic of physician burnout.

“We’ve learned that automation does not eliminate errors. Rather, it changes the nature of the errors that are made, and it makes possible new kinds of errors. The bottom line is this: Systems that integrate the best of human abilities and technology are the safest for all concerned”.                        Captain Sully Sullenberger, Pilot, “Miracle on the Hudson”

Evidence-based Policy?

I recently heard a story of a 74-year-old female patient suffering from severe post-operative pain.  She called the advice nurse on a Saturday morning, requesting that she be seen. The response (in two different calls with two different clinicians) was that “it is our policy to not give advice to post operative patients.  Call back on Monday morning when the Surgery Department is open”.

What type of evidence could possibly support this misguided and dangerous policy?  Is it not abundantly clear that the purpose of telephone triage is to facilitate safe, timely access?  Is it not true that symptoms like post operative pain may be time sensitive, and that care delayed may be viewed as care denied?

Although studies of patient self-referrals have existed for several decades (North, 2010), perhaps we need to implement a policy that encourages patients to be proactive. Patients experiencing urgent symptoms should be given priority.  In fact, for decades many patients have bypassed the advice nurse (or physician) altogether, taking matters into their own hands, and self-presented to the nearest ED, thereby achieving safer outcomes.

New research describes what might be a policy for safer, more timely dispositions than described in the case study above. Researchers found that callers who self-referred by “jumping the queue” were more severely ill than callers who did not bypass the queue (Ebert, 2019).  The study utilized an “Emergency Access Button”, whereby patients were allowed to jump the line, if they felt that their symptoms were urgent.

Systems ErrorA recent article in the New York Times entitled “How Corporate Medicine Exploits Doctors and Nurses” (Ofri, 2019) highlights a worrisome trend.  Danielle Ofri, MD — a physican at Bellevue Hospital –notes that corporate medicine has milked all the “efficiency” it can out the the system.

In recent decades, the workload on medical and nursing staff has increased by 30%.  Nurses and doctors are burning out and even becoming suicidal (and at higher rates than nearly any other profession), likely from the stress of trying to manage the increased workload while still adhering to professional standards and ethics.

Not surprisingly, higher levels of burnout are associated with medical error.  Ofri concludes that “healthcare is by no means perfect, but what good exists is because of individuals who strive to do the right thing” (Ofri, 2019). Such observations have particular relevance to the current practice of telephone triage, where staff sometimes find themselves “between a rock and a hard place”.

Human Error:  Decision FatigueAs a full-time or even 8-hour task, telephone triage requires continuous, unrelenting clinical decision-making – a repetitious, arduous, exhausting and mentally draining task. After 6 hours, this type of mental work results in decision fatigue.

A recent New York Times article described research on physicians’ decision fatigue, advising patients to visit their doctor early in the day (Linder, 2019).   So too, clinicians working full time in high volume clinical call centers (or exclusively on the phone for 8-hour shifts) are likely to suffer decision fatigue, raising questions about safe shift length for this type of work.

Pre-Hospital Calls and Sepsis  Having served as an expert witness on approximately 35 malpractice cases in telephone triage, the author discovered that approximately 30-40% of malpractice cases (most of whom died) were later diagnosed as sepsis.

Evidence Based Medicine According to Wikipedia, “evidence-based medicine (EBM) is an approach to medical practice intended to optimize decision-making by emphasizing the use of evidence from well-designed and well-conducted research. “

 Little or no research on Early Sepsis Recognition in telephone triage exists.  However, recent research on sepsis finds that 85% of sepsis cases arrive with sepsis (Health Catalyst, 2018) Furthermore, mortality rates approach 50%when delays occur. Using current EBM, would it make sense to create guidelines, training and policies for pre-Hospital early sepsis recognition?

SAFE POLICIES EVIDENCE-BASED

Based on the above research, it seems reasonable and prudent to promote a Culture of Safety in telephone triage grounded in EBM polices.

  • Formally recognize and legitimize Telehealth as Pre-hospital care— the first contact and initial phase of the Continuum of Care,
  • Enable patients with self-identified urgent symptoms to jump the line
  • Implement Sepsis Early Recognition Guideline especially for children and elderly
  • Integrate the Nursing Process more formally into training materials and guidelines
  • Institute 4-6 Hour shiftsin all High Call Volume clinical call centers or 8-hour dedicated positions.

BRAVE NEW WORLD OF TELEHEALTH

The work of telephone triage is nothing if not uncertain, and humans intensely dislike uncertainty.  However, it is prudent to acknowledge the limitations of this work, and to question our assumptions about it.  Safe assumptions (based on evidence)  can be the foundation for safe policies.

Available  on Amazon in early 2021


Share this article
FacebooktwitterlinkedinFacebooktwitterlinkedin