EnglishEspañol中文(简体)Deutsch
远程医疗培训手册和准则 -- 通过从医学专业值得信赖 1985


初级保健中的远程医疗风险管理, 紧急护理和急诊科设置 (2021)


可用的 at Amazon 在早期 2021

Description Telehealth is ubiquitous, and the pandemic has fueled additional growth. 然而, professionalism and standards are lagging behind the technology. 可以可靠的指导方针, 支持技术, 和标准可降低医疗事故的风险?

This book examines emerging controversial trends and practices related to access, 计划的错误恢复, 有关电话分诊中知情同意的有关医院再入院和闭环通讯的新规定. 21 不良案例研究说明了如何通过新技术和新标准来纠正经常性错误.

The Appendix includes Supplemental Materialsan interview with two legal experts and additional telehealth case studies. 女士. Wheeler was the first expert to describe the common errors with prospective solutions to common telehealth malpractice issues.

作者 希拉·惠勒, MSN, RN. 自 1995, Ms.Wheeler has served as an expert witness for plaintiffs and defendants in 35 telephone triage malpractice cases.

Using over 50 real-life case studies, the book describes malpractice risks specific to telephone triage. It also provides examples of how improving telehealth system—qualified staff, inadequate guidelines, 标准, training and documentation—can reduce risk. 从专家证人的角度分析案例研究, 不是法律专家.

由加利福尼亚的护士经理审查:

“正确的目标, 远程实践中的风险管理 对分诊护士进行医疗事故风险的教育, 良好沟通和清晰文档的重要性. 一旦我开始阅读, 我不想放下. 案例研究很有趣. 大多数不良结果是可以预防的; 在少数情况下,护士要么缺乏知识, 教育或经验. 需要一名经验丰富的护士,具有较强的文档编制能力才能担任咨询护士. 阅读这篇文章使我想提高自己的技能,并鼓励其他人也这样做。”

布伦达·布莱恩·丹纳(Brenda Blain Danner), MSN, RN, CNL, 临床护士经理, 电话服务

阅读材料摘录

“我们不会寻找经常性错误的模式, 或为他们设计和完善潜在的解决方案. But we could, and that is the ultimate point” (Gawande, 2010)

本课程检查错误的反复发生模式 (医疗事故) 导致延误电话分诊的时间. 它还描述了降低风险的积极方法. 许多建议基于联合委员会和医学研究所关于减少错误的标准的报告以及Avedis Donabedian的开拓性工作, M.D. (1992). 他的模型提供了一个评估类别中医疗质量的框架: “结构体” (背景), “处理” (患者与提供者之间的交易), 和“结果” (医疗保健对患者健康状况的影响). 这项工作的第二个影响是有关诊断错误和风险管理的最新文章 (Groszkruger, 2014), 谁建议补救常见问题.

作者认为,电话分类是一种院前护理的形式,需要临床专业知识来评估出现症状的紧迫性. 反复出现的错误导致无法进行充分评估,无法通过电话识别并分类潜在的紧急症状. 医疗保健系统通常侧重于成本控制而不包括安全性. 及时获得护理需要发达的安全文化, 健全的结构和过程可确保安全结果. 电话分类系统要求质量体系和实践以实现总体安全.

该 21 用于说明法律原则的案例研究是基于实际事件的. 然而, 在某些情况下,识别信息已被省略.

技术标准

准则设计标准 Clinical Practice Guidelines We Can Trust (2011), IOM提出了评估指南所需的七个标准. IOM建议开发人员针对这些假设制定设计标准, 分析方法, 在任何指引开发中使用理由. 此类设计标准还将适用于所有电话分类指南. 然而, 很少有指南制定者提供证据表明他们的指南符合此类标准, 或允许他们的专有产品经过测试并与他人进行比较. 在买方和最终用户方面缺乏透明度.

在信息真空中工作的风险 从未证明不了解决策结果的临床实践可以改善实践, 而有关结果的特定反馈可提高实践安全性. AHRQ指出,尚不存在可靠的决策支持和反馈系统 (2017). 这样的机制 — 被称为计划的错误恢复 — 允许从业人员可以通过电话分类诊断后获得现场评估的患者的最终诊断. 此功能可为临床医生提供特定的反馈,并加强实践.

技术可以支持专业标准.电话分诊技术-电子指南和EMR软件具有跟踪标准化分诊结果并确保 计划的错误恢复. 此功能提供强制反馈, 帮助减少人为错误. 这种基本的错误减少策略可提倡一种自我检查或再次检查他人工作的方法 (The Joint Commission).集成计划的错误恢复功能,可使护士从错误和成功中学习, 从而减少系统错误.


分享这篇文章
FacebooktwitterlinkedinFacebooktwitterlinkedin

EnglishEspañol中文(简体)Deutsch
Telehealth Training Manuals and Guidelines -- trusted by medical professionals since 1985


Telehealth Risk Management in Primary Care, Urgent Care and Emergency Department Settings (2021)


Available at Amazon in early 2021

Description  Telehealth is ubiquitous, and the pandemic has fueled additional  growth. Yet, professionalism and standards are lagging behind  the technology.  Can reliable guidelines, supportive technologies, and standards reduce the risk of medical malpractice?

This book examines emerging controversial trends and practices related to access, planned error recovery, new regulations about hospital readmissions and closed circle communications as it relates to informed consent in telephone triage. 21 malpractice case studies illustrate how recurrent errors can be remedied by new technologies and standards.

The Appendix includes  Supplemental Materials —   an interview with two legal experts and additional telehealth case studies. Ms. Wheeler was the first expert to describe the common errors with prospective solutions to common telehealth malpractice issues. 

Author Sheila Wheeler, MSN, RN. Since 1995, Ms.Wheeler has served as an expert witness for plaintiffs and defendants in 35 telephone triage malpractice cases.

Using over 50 real-life case studies, the book describes malpractice risks specific to telephone triage.  It also provides examples of how improving telehealth system—qualified staff, inadequate guidelines, standards, training and documentation—can reduce risk. Case studies are analyzed from the perspective of an expert witness, not as a legal expert.

Reviewed by California-based Nurse Manager:

“Right on target, Risk Management in Telepractice educates telephone triage nurses about the risk of malpractice, the importance of excellent communications and clear documentation. Once I started reading, I did not want to put it down.  The case studies were interesting.  Most of the poor outcomes were preventable; in a few it appeared that the nurses either lacked knowledge, education or experience. It takes an experienced nurse with strong documentation skills to work as Advice Nurse. Reading the article made me want to sharpen my skills and encourage others to do the same.”

 Brenda Blain Danner, MSN, RN, CNL, Clinical Nurse Manager, Telephone Care Service 

READING MATERIAL EXCERPT

“We don’t look for patterns of our recurrent mistakes, or devise and refine potential solutions for them. But we could, and that is the ultimate point” (Gawande, 2010)

This course examines recurrent patterns of error (medical malpractice) that contribute to delay in care in telephone triage. It also describes proactive approaches to reduce risk.  Many of the suggestions are based on Joint Commission and Institute of Medicine reports on standards to reduce error and the pioneering work of Avedis Donabedian, M.D. (1992). His model provides a framework for evaluating healthcare quality in categories: “structure” (context), “process” (transactions between patient and provider), and “outcomes” (effects of healthcare on patient health status).  A second influence on this work is a recent article about diagnostic error and risk management (Groszkruger, 2014), who suggests remedies to common problems.

It is the author’s opinion that telephone triage is a form of pre-hospital care which requires clinical expertise to estimate the urgency of presenting symptoms.  Recurrent errors result in failure to assess adequately in order to identify and then classify  potentially urgent symptoms by telephone.  Healthcare Systems often focus on cost-containment to the exclusion of safety. Timely access to care requires a developed culture of safety, sound structure and process for safe outcomes.  Telephone triage systems require quality systems and practice to achieve safety overall.

The 21 case studies used to illustrate legal principles are based on actual events. However, in some cases identifying information  has been omitted.

Standards for Technology

Guideline Design Criteria In Clinical Practice Guidelines We Can Trust (2011), the IOM sets forth seven criteria required for appraising guidelines. The IOM recommends that developers set forth design standards for the assumptions, analytic methods, and rationales used in any guideline development. Such design standards would also apply to all telephone triage guidelines. Yet, few guideline developers have provided evidence that their guidelines meet such standards, or allow their proprietaryproductstobetestedandcompared to others. Transparency is lacking in terms of the buyer and the end-user.

Risk of Working in an Information Vacuum   Clinical practice without learning the outcomes of one’s decisions has never been shown to improve practice, whereas specific feedback about outcomes enhances practice safety. AHRQ notes that reliable decision support and feedback systems do not yet exist (2017). Such mechanisms — known as planned error recovery  — allow practitioners access to the final diagnosis for patients evaluated on-site following telephone triage calls. This feature provides for both specific feedback for clinicians and reinforces improved practice.

Technology Can Support Professional Standards.Telephone Triage technology—electronic guidelines and EMR software has the potential to both track standardized triage outcomes as well as to insure planned error recovery. This feature provides mandatory feedback, helping to reduce human error. This essential error reduction strategy promotes a method to self-check or double-checks another person’s work (The Joint Commission).Integrating planned error recovery enables nurses to learn from their mistakes and successes, thereby reducing system error.


Share this article
FacebooktwitterlinkedinFacebooktwitterlinkedin