EnglishEspañol中文(简体)Deutsch
Telefon Triage-Ausbildung, Beratung und Know-how -- von Medizinern seit vertrauenswürdigen 1985
so. 415-453-8382


Schlüsselsymptomliste für Pre-Triage ohne Kliniker: Eine riskante Praxis


Schlüsselliste der Symptome von Nicht-Ärzten vor der Triage?

I am often asked about a recommended “list of key symptoms for clerical staff to use to pre-triage patients”. I do not have such a list, nor do I recommend this risky policy. If your facility implements such a task delegation policy, I recommend that nurses meet with the hospital counsel in regard to this matter, as well as getting the policy in writing.

While symptoms such as chest pain, difficulty breathing and severe pain are obviously urgent symptoms, bis heute, es gibt keinen research evidence dass jede Liste der wichtigsten Symptome es Nicht-Ärzten ermöglicht, die Symptome sicher vor der Triage zu behandeln. Während viele Einrichtungen dies derzeit zulassen, um die Kosten zu senken, based on my experience as an expert witness, it is risky, and especially with pediatric populations. Es ist wahrscheinlich, dass sich diese unkluge Praxis - wie sie in Arztpraxen üblich ist - auf ambulante Pflegeeinrichtungen ausgeweitet hat, möglicherweise aufgrund von Verwirrung über Richtlinien über WHO (Ärzte, corporations or nurses) ist gesetzlich autorisiert (und rechenschaftspflichtig) klinische Aufgaben an nicht qualifiziertes Personal zu delegieren. WEITERLESEN Neuer Artikel über Aufgabendelegation und falsche Darstellung

Fragen zum Prozess und zu den Ergebnissen der Telefon-Triage

  • Was ist der erste Schritt des Telefon-Triage-Prozesses? (Nursing Process)? Ist es kritisches Denken und ein standardisiertes, umfassende Bewertung (D. h.. ein Symptom durchführen & Anamnese)? Oder es geht nur darum, schnell eine Richtlinie auszuwählen und den Befragungsprozess ohne die vorläufige Bewertung zu beginnen?
  • Triage ist definiert als die “Zuordnung der Dringlichkeitsgrade von Krankheiten zur Entscheidung über die Reihenfolge der Behandlung, oder Bestimmung der Priorität von Patienten’ Behandlungen basierend auf der Schwere ihres Zustands” (Wikipedia). Sind Telefon-Triage-Richtlinien entwickelt, um die Symptome des Patienten in Dringlichkeitskategorien einzuteilen? (life threatening, emergent, dringend, akuten oder nicht akuten) mit entsprechenden Dispositionen (when, wo und warum Patienten gesehen werden müssen)?
  • Ist unser Ziel sicher?, rechtzeitige Dispositionen — oder Differential Diagnosen?
  • Schließlich, Gibt es Beweise dafür, dass die Vor-Triage durch Nicht-Kliniker sicher ist?? Wo ist die Forschung?

Teile diesen Artikel
FacebooktwitterlinkedinFacebooktwitterlinkedin

EnglishEspañol中文(简体)Deutsch
Telephone triage training, consulting and expertise -- trusted by medical professionals since 1985
tel. 415-453-8382


Key Symptom List for Non-Clinician Pre-Triage: A Risky Practice


Key List of Symptoms of Non-Clinicians to Pre-Triage?

I am often asked about a recommended “list of key symptoms for clerical staff to use to pre-triage patients”. I do not have such a list, nor do I recommend this risky policy. If your facility implements such a task delegation policy, I recommend that nurses meet with the hospital counsel in regard to this matter, as well as getting the policy in writing.

While symptoms such as chest pain, difficulty breathing and severe pain are obviously urgent symptoms, to date, there is no research evidence that any list of key symptoms enables non-clinicians to safely “pre-triage” symptoms. While many facilities currently allow this in order to reduce costs, based on my experience as an expert witness, it is risky, and especially with pediatric populations.  It is likely that this unwise practice — common in physician’s offices — has spread to ambulatory care settings, possibly due to confusion over policies about who (physicians, corporations or nurses) is legally authorized  (and accountable) to delegate clinical tasks to unqualified staff. READ MORE  New Article about Task Delegation and Misrepresentation

Questions About the Process and Outcomes of Telephone Triage

  • What is the First Step of Telephone Triage Process (Nursing Process)?  Is it critical thinking and a standardized, comprehensive assessment (i.e. performing a Symptom & Patient History)? Or is it just a matter of quickly selecting a guideline and beginning the questioning process without the preliminary assessment?
  • Triage is defined as the “assignment of degrees of urgency of illnesses to decide the order of treatment, or determining the priority of patients’ treatments based on the severity of their condition” (Wikipedia). Are telephone triage guidelines designed to help sort patient symptoms into categories of urgency (life threatening, emergent, urgent, acute or non-acute) with corresponding Dispositions (when, where and why patients need to be seen)?
  • Is our Goal safe, timely dispositions —  or differential diagnoses?
  • Finally, is there evidence that demonstrates that pre-triage by non-clincians is safe?  Where is the research?

Share this article
FacebooktwitterlinkedinFacebooktwitterlinkedin